More about the Scientific Leadership Council

The Scientific Leadership Council is guided by academic advisors, government liaisons, and at-large representatives of contributing companies. The Council plays an important role in defining scientific programming, evaluating emerging science proposals, and reviewing applications for internships and fellowships.

The Scientific Leadership Council leads the effort in organizing the Annual Meeting science program by identifying topic areas for approval by the Board of Trustees. The Council also serves to identify, coordinate and prioritize emerging science topics.  The selected emerging science topics may be addressed in a variety of ways, including a scientific session at the Annual meeting, a workshop or session at another organization’s science meeting, or by supporting the formation of a new committee or working group. Additionally, the Scientific Leadership Council reviews applications for select internship or fellowship opportunities.

Through the collaboration enabled, the Scientific Leadership Council provides the organization with key insights to respond with agility to food safety and nutritional sciences changes across the food and beverage ecosystem.

Committee Members

Carmen Tekwe, Indiana University  – Co-Chair                              Jing Zhao, Ingredion Incorporated – Co-Chair

Jessica Campbell, General Mills
Hongda Chen, USDA NIFA
Cindy Davis, USDA ARS
Charles Czuprynksi, University of Wisconsin
Alex Eapen, Cargill
Mario Ferruzzi, UAMS
Alexandria Hast, Campbells Soup
Steven Hermansky, US FDA
David Kitts, University of British Columbia
Art Liang, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Amy Preston, The Hershey Company
Kristi Reimers, Conagra Brands
Vincent Sewalt, IFF
Katarina Smiljanec, ADM
Kelly Swanson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Casey Vanous, Herbalife
Felicia Wu, Michigan State
Hang Xiao, U Mass Amherst
William Yan, Health Canada (Retired)